Flax Seed Hair Gel

I’ve been making my own flax seed hair gel for like 5 years. I love it and my hair is so healthy now. When I first started making it, I bought some fragrance oils in the scent I wanted and it smelled good. But then I started learning about scents, so I started using essential oils to scent it instead. Again, I just was using the oils that I liked the smell of. About 6 months ago, a friend told me that certain essential oils help to keep your hair healthy. I had NO IDEA! I just thought they smelled good! So, I switched up my essential oils and started using lavender and cedarwood. I noticed a difference in my hair immediately! My hair was so much softer after just that first day. It was then that I realized that I had totally underestimated essential oils. And my love for them just keeps growing!

So, here’s my updated recipe! (I now use lavender, cedarwood, and rosemary. Read to the end of the post to learn about the benefits of each of the oils.)

Homemade Flax Seed Hair Gel

  • 2 cups water
  • 1/4 cup flax seeds
  • 1/2 tsp (ish) vitamin E oil
  • 3 drops each of lavender, cedarwood, and rosemary essential oils
  • 3 Tbsp pure Aloe Vera Gel (optional)
  • Nylon knee-high (the cheap ones from the drug store)
1. Put water and flax seeds into a pot and bring to a boil, stirring often
2. Boil for around 10 minutes, or until a white frothy gel like liquid forms
3. Let cool slightly and poor into the nylon knee-high. Squeeze out the gel using tongs
4. Mix in the vitamin E oil, essential oils, and aloe vera gel
5. Store in an air tight container. I find that an 8 oz bottle lasts about a week and is fine to be left at room temperature. I store the rest of the batch in the fridge and use it the following week.
.
Lavender Essential Oil
  • Extremely versatile oil
  • Can be used for everything from skin issues to sleep issues
  • Also helps promote hair growth
Cedarwood Essential Oil
  • Has sedative properties which promote relaxation and help relieve tension (it’s great for sleep!)
  • Helps relax sore muscles
  • Has been shown to regenerate hair loss
Rosemary Essential Oil
  • Commonly used to open the airways
  • Also has been used to help hair loss
Want to get yourself these amazing oils that promote hair health? Click here to sign up for a Premium Starter Kit! You’ll get 11 amazing oils and a high quality diffuser. And if you sign up for a premium starter kit, I’ll throw in a bottle of cedarwood essential oil for free! That way you can be on your way to healthier hair in no time!

3 thoughts on “Flax Seed Hair Gel”

    1. I’ve never tried using ground flax. I’m guessing that it would still make a gel, but I can imagine that it would be very hard to strain out the small pieces. I’d definitely recommend looking for whole flax seed!

      Like

Leave a comment